new to the piano

Questions on learning to play the piano, and piano music.

Moderators: Feg, Gill the Piano

louttrim
Regular Poster
Regular Poster

new to the piano

Post by louttrim »

hello all

just wanted to say hello to everyone.. I'm new to learning the piano (I've had a grand total of 3 lessons so far!!) and just wondered how many adult learners there are out there? I mean complete and total learners... :shock:

My piano is elderly but an ebay bargain.. it's been tuned but the keys are still a bit sticky. Is there anything i can do about that?

anyway, looking forward to getting some hints and tips from everyone

L
Gooday
Regular Poster
Regular Poster

Post by Gooday »

Hello L,

Having started just before 29, I definitely qualify as an adult learner. Unlike you, I bought a digital piano and pottered around with this for a number of years, before buying a yamaha B1 2 years ago. Then I really started taking things seriously. A real piano is definitely the way to go.

One of things that constantly surprises me is that, although you sometimes can't tell you're making progress (as progress happens over years rather than days), you can return to a piece baffled you a year or so ago, and you've improved without having playing it since.

Playing the piano has really opened up my musical horizons. I really wish I'd done it sooner. (I think the horrible clonking style of school assembly plus a real dislike of Elton John/Jools Holland probably put me off) The piano can be a very beautiful instrument though, and once I realised this (thanks to a spur of the moment visit to a piano recital in Vienna) I really wanted to play it.

Keep things varied, don't give up and just keep practicing would be my advice. Before you know it - sometime in 2010;) you'll be picking music you've not seen before and playing it (or something tunefully near) and that's a great feeling.