Dull bass strings, can i clean them?? please comment!!

General discussion about piano makes, problems with pianos, or just seeking advice.

Moderators: Feg, Gill the Piano, Melodytune

Rufusw

Dull bass strings, can i clean them?? please comment!!

Post by Rufusw »

My piano is old, it recently had its 107th birthday, we baked a cake with 107 candles and set all the smoke alarms off, it was fun.
Anyway, i'm a student and this old antique is the instrument i have to learn with, its only cost me the price of a tune and the tuner said its worth tuning, it's a concert overture and is actually a decent quality piano..

It sounds dull towards the bass end and being a student at the moment i don't want to spend money on it if it can be avoided! Bear in mind its playable and i have had many hours of enjoyment out of it!

When i got it half the keys didn't work but i removed the action and spent many hours with silicone spray lubricating and working the action untill it came good again, if anyone else thinks of doing this i have some advise, don't do it on the kitchen floor. For 2 weeks afterwards the residual silicone spray made the kitchen lino lethal when wearing socks!! its like black ice!!! no wonder it works so well in felt bushes.....

But... i want to try and remove that dull thuddish sound from it if i can, or at least improve it slightly, anyone got any ideas / suggestions??

I'm really starting to get somewhere with my playing and i like this old piano, it has a great tone except the odd dull sounding note

Thanks for taking the time to read my post :D
Barrie Heaton
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by Barrie Heaton »

The dullness is caused by two things dirt in the copper and the copper winding coming loose.

Back in the early 80s we use to remove bass strings, boiled them in soda water for 20 mins put them back on with a few twist worked quite well on some was a wast of time on others. The other problem is strings breaking when you pull them back up.