Buying a new piano - some advice

General discussion about piano makes, problems with pianos, or just seeking advice.

Moderators: Feg, Gill the Piano, Melodytune

lovasco
Junior Poster
Junior Poster

Buying a new piano - some advice

Post by lovasco »

Dear guys, I am a novice - play some very easy jazz pieces - and own an old Nindorf that my wife used to play many years ago and that is not worth repairing (the piano, not my wife :lol:).
I am evaluating a new Yamaha U3 with Sostenuto pedal and with or without the Silent System.
First question: as I am learning piano from scratch, does the U3 fit for a piano education process ?
Second question: does the Silent System, when disabled, impact on the actions and/or sound of the piano? In other words, does it sound and act as a traditional U3 piano without Silent System?
Thanks in advance for your advice.
I'm learning piano from scratch. Too late?
Openwood
Senior Poster
Senior Poster

Post by Openwood »

Hi Lovasco,

In my opinion the U3 is a very good piano indeed. I have a new U1 in the music room at school which has the silent system and I have had no problems whatsoever with the action. The silent system has been an absolute godsend and I would recommend it to anyone who needs to practice late/early/when other people are watching TV in the same room etc.

The only caveat is that technology evolves so quickly that I wonder what will happen in, say, 10 year's time when we may need spare parts and everyone is using the next generation of silent systems, but that's the same with anything you buy these days I guess.

Anyway, it sounds like the wife's still working well after all these years so you have to count your blessings :lol:
lovasco
Junior Poster
Junior Poster

Post by lovasco »

Hi Openwood, thanks a lot for your advice.

My wife seems to like this piano and the silent system too.