Neumeyer (London) Baby Grand - Sold at Harrods

Ask questions on piano history and the age of your piano.

Moderators: Feg, Gill the Piano, Bill Kibby

Dlandon

Neumeyer (London) Baby Grand - Sold at Harrods

Post by Dlandon »

Hi,

I have recently acquired a Neumeyer Baby Grand Piano. I know there were several makers that used the Neumeyer name but presume this is Neumeyer London. The Serial no. etched in the sound board is 44586. On the inside of the frame there is a plaque that reads "supplied by Harrods Ltd No. H. 50887" (see photo) which I presume is the serial no. used by Harrods when sold.

I am no expert but it appears in reasonable condition. It does not look that old to me, but it may have been restored at some stage. Any information on the approximate age would be really helpful.

Thanks very much
Attachments
20230814_214327.jpg
Barrie Heaton
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: Neumeyer (London) Baby Grand - Sold at Harrods

Post by Barrie Heaton »

Sadly Harrods no longer has a piano department; however, if you ring or email customer services and ask them nicely, give them the Harrods serial number, they will tell you when it was sold. Sadly because of data protection, they can't tell you who they sold it to.

Neumeyer did not publish numbers and dates.

Barrie
Barrie Heaton
Web Master UK Piano Page
Dlandon

Post by Dlandon »

Thank you. I have messaged Harrods. It plays nicely but needs servicing and tuning. I would love to know its age and to get a vague idea of its history and worth. Whatever the case, it will live with me forever now and is a perfect addition to our house and makes a lovely change my Roland electric piano. But knowing a bit about it would be great.

Thanks.
Dieter
Regular Poster
Regular Poster

Post by Dieter »

There was no Neumeyer piano factory in London. Their Neumeyer is a Berlin product.