New Piano - problems with heating / changes in humidity

General discussion about piano makes, problems with pianos, or just seeking advice.

Moderators: Feg, Gill the Piano, Melodytune

xuloChavez

New Piano - problems with heating / changes in humidity

Post by xuloChavez »

Hi All

I'm studying for 6th grade and after two years combining a basic digital piano and practice rooms, I'm considering buying a new Kawai K-3.

The only spot I can place it is in a smallish living room (5 m X 3 m), 1.5 m away from a radiator (at the closest point). The heating is powerful, and the house is always warm in winter (plain warm though the day and then very warm in the eveing), although obviously I can regulate the living room heating. Also, the piano is about 0.5 m away from an external window, which would get some late afternoon sun (although there are curtains).

This is already not ideal, but there is one more problem that I hadnt thought of: we tend to use the living room to dry the washing up, several times a week, which can make it quite humid (to the point that my classes get condensation when I walk in from the outside).

Would this rule the piano out? From what I read, heating / humidity would be more of a problem for older pianos. Would a new piano normally be fine, just need additional tuning, or will it deteriorate quickly, eg in a few years rather than a few decades? Would it help that Kawai K3 uses carbon fiber in parts of their action?

thanks
Pablo
MarkGoodwinPianos
Senior Poster
Senior Poster

Re: New Piano - problems with heating / changes in humidity

Post by MarkGoodwinPianos »

I'm not a technician but I'd have said the first 2 issues are fine but if you are talking about the clothes washing as opposed to pot washing then that might be the only thing to cause concern.

Some clever people will be along shortly to advise you better
:)
Yamaha Pianos for sale (usually 50+ in stock)