Sight-reading in Associated Board exams

Questions on learning to play the piano, and piano music.

Moderators: Feg, Gill the Piano

Do you think there should be the choice of EITHER sight-reading OR memorisation in Associated Board practical exams?

Yes
22%
No
78%

Total votes: 18

Liz May

Post by Liz May »

I am a piano teacher and have always thought that *sight-reading* was a very useful skill to acquire. In adulthood, most of our pupils are going to be playing their instruments for enjoyment, not as professionals, and are certainly not going to have much time to practise a piece to perfection. However, if they have good sight-reading skills, they can at least have the fun of borrowing a music score from a library and making a stab at playing through the pieces, in the same way as one might borrow a novel to read without perhaps understanding every single word!

However, in my experience, there are some pupils who are clearly never going to achieve these sight-reading skills. These are often the very same pupils who find it easy to memorise music, which is something I (and no doubt many other good sight-readers) find difficult to do! It is also a fact that Associated Board practical exams are biased towards sight-reading rather than memory skills. I wonder therefore whether it would fairer to all concerned if TWO options were available in the exam: 1) to take the sight-reading test OR 2) to play one of the set pieces from memory (perhaps two pieces from memory in the case of the very early grades).

I would be very interested to receive your comments on the above, before I write to the Associated Board.
magriggs
Junior Poster
Junior Poster

Post by magriggs »

As much as I *hate* the sight-reading part of exams, I think it's a vital skill and that it should be examined. Learning the set pieces and playing them from memory is (for me, at least) trivial.

mike
KJH

Sight reading

Post by KJH »