Advice for 11 year old beginners please :)

Questions on learning to play the piano, and piano music.

Moderators: Feg, Gill the Piano

Bella

Advice for 11 year old beginners please :)

Post by Bella »

Hi

I'm new to this site and it looks great! I'm also quite new to teaching piano, and would really appreciate some advice.

I'm about to take on two 11-year old beginners and have not taught beginners before (I've only taken on pupils already on their grades so far).

Could anyone recommend a good series of books to start with? I know there are lots out there and it's best to use a combination, but while I'm finding my feet I'd like to follow one main book. Any ideas?

Thanks very much :)

Bella
Nutroast
Persistent Poster
Persistent Poster

Post by Nutroast »

Hello Bella, just wanted to say hello and welcome. I'm just like one of your students, only some 11,300 days older. Wishing you loads of luck. It must be wonderful to be able to pass your skill on by teaching.

Jan
Gill the Piano

Post by Gill the Piano »

Piano Lessons by Fanny Waterman and Marion Harewood is a good reliable book - if a little staid. I'm noticing a lot of Pauline Hall books as I go around tuning, and kids seem to enjoy the pieces, and are eager to show me what they're playing. It's quite jolly stuff, jazzy mixed with classics.
Descombes
Persistent Poster
Persistent Poster

Post by Descombes »

Gill the Piano wrote:Piano Lessons by Fanny Waterman and Marion Harewood is a good reliable book - if a little staid. I'm noticing a lot of Pauline Hall books as I go around tuning, and kids seem to enjoy the pieces, and are eager to show me what they're playing. It's quite jolly stuff, jazzy mixed with classics.