Trouble with Bass Clef

Questions on learning to play the piano, and piano music.

Moderators: Feg, Gill the Piano

sparkley
Regular Poster
Regular Poster

Trouble with Bass Clef

Post by sparkley »

Hello there :-)

I've just started taking piano lessons and am having some problems with bass clef. I've been playing the clarinet for 13 years now and so I've only ever played music in treble clef. I've done theory exams etc and A-Level music so I know how bass clef works, but for some reason I can't seem to read it as it is. By this I mean whenever I look at notes in the bass clef, in my head I always read them as if they were in the treble clef and then transpose them.

Its making it very difficult for playing as I often have trouble keeping my left hand up with my right hand, as I have to transpose the note, not just read it. I don't know of any way I can learn to read the notes as they are in bass clef. Does anybody have any ideas or tips please?

Many thanks!
Descombes
Persistent Poster
Persistent Poster

Post by Descombes »

I can remember, as a child, finding the bass clef notes difficult. I agree with dave brum that trying to remember a couple of milestone notes was a big help. I think I found it most useful to always have it in mind that the lowest line was G and to quickly calculate everything from that. Gradually the calculations became quicker and eventually became unnecessary. I think the second note I always remembered was 2nd space C, presumably because so many easy pieces then (and now too, though less predominantly) were in C major.
It also helped to play lots of music based on simple chords: I enjoyed playing hymn-tunes, which were ideal for that, but they might not be everyone's first choice. You soon get to recognise the chords, so playing the bass clef notes becomes automatic.
I think the main thing to say to sparkley is that it does all suddenly click into place!
Moonlight
Senior Poster
Senior Poster

Post by Moonlight »

Hey Sparkley,