My beginner experiences so far...

Questions on learning to play the piano, and piano music.

Moderators: Feg, Gill the Piano

sooper8

My beginner experiences so far...

Post by sooper8 »

Hi all,
I've posted a couple of posts on here already but wanted to share my experiences on the piano so far...

Context - I've loved music since I was a kid and I'm an ok guitarist who's been playing for many years. I understand some music theory but I'm a 'by ear' player who never really learned scales on guitar but have figured enough stuff out to have played in a couple of bands and not sound dreadful.

So, in January 2018 approx, I got a hankering to buy a piano for our small house , so that I , my grown up kids and grandkids could perhaps play when they called round.
I got a nice old upright Challen Bureau piano for next to nothing and then had to get it moved into the house.Job completed, I didn't really touch it for a couple of weeks out of a strange kind of fear that I wouldn't be any good or even wouldn't like it.

Fast forward a couple of months and I am having the best time ever!! My favourite time to play is a Saturday morning (not sure why?).

I have taken the path of least resistance and just got straight down to trying to play songs (I am sort of on nodding terms with a few major scales). I have 'learned' the major and minor chords, and an inversion or two of the main chords.
I am working out the 6th's and 7th's too.

I started by plonking my 3 fat fingers of the right hand into a chord then 'bashing' a single bass note with my left finger or thumb.
This was the limit of my playing for a while but I now have 'progressed' to a chord in the left and a chord/melody playing with the right, and then sometimes octave bass notes and a 5th in the bass if it sounds good with my left.