Second hand piano

General discussion about piano makes, problems with pianos, or just seeking advice.

Moderators: Feg, Gill the Piano, Melodytune

Carlos84

Second hand piano

Post by Carlos84 »

Hello, I have just joined this forum so I am a new member. I am a future piano tuning student and I am looking for a piano to buy. I would like to practice my tuning and improve a bit my playing. I have found a R. Gors & Kalmann that I would like to go and have a look. This piano is a Baby grand (5ft) and has normally been played and tuned. I would appreciate if you could give me some advice about what I should check. I read that I should check the soundboard and the iron frame, is that right? What do you think about this maker? I have been trying to find some information but I could not find relevant information.

I am quite confused and hope you can help me a bit,,

Many thanks,

Carlos
NewAge
Persistent Poster
Persistent Poster

Re: Second hand piano

Post by NewAge »

Carlos84 wrote:Hello, I have just joined this forum so I am a new member. I am a future piano tuning student and I am looking for a piano to buy. I would like to practice my tuning and improve a bit my playing. I have found a R. Gors & Kalmann that I would like to go and have a look. This piano is a Baby grand (5ft) and has normally been played and tuned. I would appreciate if you could give me some advice about what I should check. I read that I should check the soundboard and the iron frame, is that right? What do you think about this maker? I have been trying to find some information but I could not find relevant information.

I am quite confused and hope you can help me a bit, Many thanks,
Carlos
No need to be confused. Just go to this forum's Board Index and read 'Piano Buying Advice FAQ'. Loads of info there.
Also if you 'Google' Gors & Kalmann you will see a website with some info, plus other links with related info.