Quality used upright advice

General discussion about piano makes, problems with pianos, or just seeking advice.

Moderators: Feg, Gill the Piano, Melodytune

rgreig
Regular Poster
Regular Poster

Quality used upright advice

Post by rgreig »

I am about to start looking for a high quality second-hand upright piano. I have done quite a bit of online research but before I start visiting dealers I would welcome some advice from this forum.

Some background may be useful. I am not a professional but I am a reasonably advanced player – certainly well beyond grade 8. I have realised that it is highly unlikely I will ever have a house that is large enough to accommodate a grand, so for that and various other reasons I am now looking to buy an upright piano that I expect to keep for at least 20 years. So I do not really care how easy it will be to sell it in the future but I do want to ensure I make the right decision and don’t suffer “buyer’s regret” in a couple of years.

My budget is genuinely flexible. Until I have played some I don’t think I will know what for my ability is the optimum price/performance point. I cannot afford the 19k that it appears a Steinway model K commands but I can go well beyond what I see a used U3 going for.

So onto my specific questions:

1. I am thinking that I should be looking for a piano that is no more than 10-15 years old, and I am going to ignore pianos from the earlier period, even those that claim to be fully restored. My reasoning is that I am looking for a very precise action, and also one that will not be affected by modern central heating etc. Am I on the right track with that?