First Piano

General discussion about piano makes, problems with pianos, or just seeking advice.

Moderators: Feg, Gill the Piano, Melodytune

Scott

First Piano

Post by Scott »

Right well here goes,

I'm a classical guitarist by nature and know jack all about pianos! I am currently working towards being a music teacher and so have decided to learn piano aswell to increase my general music knowledge/abilities as a teacher (plus the fact Ive wanted to learn for ages). Ive been learning for about 6 weeks so far using a keyboard my teachers leant me and have decided its time to finally get my own.

So here comes the catch - Ive got about 2 grand to spend and very little idea of what Im doing. I know that I want an upright, and that a second hand one of better quality is a smarter buy than a new one. I know that the taller the piano the better the sound quality. Ive also read lots of reviews about playing the piano before I buy, testing the weight of the keys, making sure i get the same piano that i try out etc and using reputable dealers but wonderd what sort of range I should be aiming for? Ive played a yamaha u3 recently and loved it but having looked around i doubt im going to find one in a decent nick with the right serial number for the 2k mark? If not then should i be looking at maybe a u1/ the b series?

Any thoughts/ opinions greatly appreciated!
Barrie Heaton
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: First Piano

Post by Barrie Heaton »

You have to get the piano in your budget if you want a U3 then you will have to buy one that is a bit on the old side look in the Pianos for sale by Shops there are plenty on there near your budget

If you want new then its going to be far east imports there are a few out there 2K and under again look at Pianos for sale by Shops but you will have to go for the smaller size pianos

Barrie,
Barrie Heaton
Web Master UK Piano Page
bartgovaert
Junior Poster
Junior Poster

Post by bartgovaert »

(second time I try posting a reply).

Scott,