Specifying a UK Factory!

General discussion about piano makes, problems with pianos, or just seeking advice.

Moderators: Feg, Gill the Piano, Melodytune

Geelan
Regular Poster
Regular Poster

Specifying a UK Factory!

Post by Geelan »

I'm in the market for an upright acoustic piano.
At the moment, I'm only learning to play using a keyboard - I can almost hear the purists sigh, but, believe me, I am converted.
I am looking for something along the lines of the Yamaha P121N, U1, Kawai K5 or a Kemble equivalent - suggestions please.
Having gained much from the info available on this forum, I have been in touch with a half dozen or so potential suppliers.
With regard to used pianos, I am amazed by their reticence and/or ignorance as to the history/origin of units they have on offer. Most claim their units have been reconditioned to different extents. But when asked how they can order parts for a piano, the origin of which they clearly don't know, they claim such parts are standard and interchangable between makes and models.
From what I've read, my impression is quite the opposite. I suspect it is a case of, "we'll make it fit anyway".
The prices being asked, for those unknowns - most probably, grey imports - are not that terribly far removed from a new unit ie, 4-5K more for something new over a thirty year old.
So, I'll probably opt for something new.
I would prefer to buy something wholly manufactured in Europe but my impressions are that individual components, such as the action, may be sourced elsewhere ie, China, Indonesia, Poland etc, and some sources provide better quality components than others.
I've seen references here to Kemble of Milton Keanes, now in partnership with Yamaha. They appear to have an excellent reputation. Am I right in thinking Kemble and Yamaha share Kemble's UK factory and Kawai also have one of their own in the UK?