Too good to be true?

General discussion about piano makes, problems with pianos, or just seeking advice.

Moderators: Feg, Gill the Piano, Melodytune

Lieu
Junior Poster
Junior Poster

Too good to be true?

Post by Lieu »

First off, thank you all for your incredible helpfulness! (especially pianoguy). So, a yamaha U3 popped up very near me. 5 million, originally from a UK dealer, I'm told it was bought new but the learner lost interest and has been sitting in a living room since and kept tuned.

Of course I went to play it; clean, rich sound and responsive. Now, it was lovely and resonant, but overall a tad on the bright side. Would this be explained by an almost new, typical off-the-factory-lines condition of discounted yamahas? I'm no expert, and it's hard to describe, but the 'underlying' or bulk of the tone sounded fantastic, it's just... accross the range the final product seemed a bit plain. Lacking something 'extra', not any particular fault I can pick out, but maybe that's just my cognitive biases. Maybe a simile works: compare a piece of music played with *just* the right notes with the same piece played properly with feeling and dynamics. Basically, my question is if there is untapped potential, and I don't trust my own novice opinion. Don't get me wrong though, I love how it sounded for its price. The only real harshness was a little on the bass end. If it's possible to turn it more towards balanced/slightly mellow (the delicious kind, not muffled ;) ) then 100% this piano is for me.

Second, the action. Responsiveness and repetition were great, but a little heavy for my taste. Can I get this changed a little?