Jobs within the Piano Industry

General discussion about piano makes, problems with pianos, or just seeking advice.

Moderators: Feg, Gill the Piano, Melodytune

Pheonix
Regular Poster
Regular Poster

Jobs within the Piano Industry

Post by Pheonix »

Hello,

I am hoping that some of the members here (UK) can possibly advise me.

I am looking to work within the Piano industry, in all probability in sales but preferably for one of the manufacturers as say a rep..

The Piano auction world is also a possibilty, I have over 20 years rostrum experience, but really anything to do with Pianos, music, instruments. I have scoured the web but there seems to be a closed shop within the industry and I just cannot find a way in or even a link to get me started.

My main strengths would have to be sales, I am a natural salesman, and am very good with people so if any of you have any suggestions I would be very grateful. Geographically I live in the south of England in Hampshire so that needs to be considered in the plan of attack.

Any thoughts would be very useful.

Thanks

Pheonix
Pheonix
Regular Poster
Regular Poster

Post by Pheonix »

Somebody must know someone or something, is it that much of a closed shop? I have searched the web, even searched the makers but the HR or sales depts contacts seem non existent...

C'mon help a person out here please...
Melodytune

Post by Melodytune »

It can be hard to get into the piano industry, and vacancies are rare, but have you tried local music shops etc.? Perhaps not much help but at least it would be a start if you could get work at a music shop or something like that.
Chris Melloy
Piano Tuner
Pheonix
Regular Poster
Regular Poster

Post by Pheonix »

Thanks for that I will start looking round and get busy...
Barrie Heaton
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by Barrie Heaton »

You may have one advantage or not hard to tell with nick names, but the piano sales side is very male dominated

Why! god knows

Barrie,
Barrie Heaton