1913 Bluthner 6ft 3 OR 1995 Schimmel 6ft 8?

General discussion about piano makes, problems with pianos, or just seeking advice.

Moderators: Feg, Gill the Piano, Melodytune

sirprize
Regular Poster
Regular Poster

Post by sirprize »

I've been looking around for a grand piano for some time to replace my wonderful 1904 132cm tall Chappell upright which has been in the family since 1908 but is now in need of gentle retirement. I am a professional musician and piano teacher and although not a recitalist I need something to cope with some 30-40 hours a week of work year in year out. I've found 2 interesting pianos. What do people think?

1) 1995 Schimmel 6ft 8in grand in mahog poly, sus/sos/uni pedals, mint condition, lovely, bright, modern, flexible tone. (Can't divulge what I've been offered it for but it's WELL under £15,000 inc vat). Pros: it's 'new' and doesn't need any work. Its sound suits MOST styles/periods. 3 pedals. Cons: it doesn't have any particularly individual character

2) 1913 Bluthner 6ft 3in grand in French polished rosewood, playable condition and hasn't been 'mucked about with', top octave good (for a Bluthner), mid-range too bland at the moment. Bottom not bad. Case needs a little attention. Has a VERY good Bluthner patent action (my all-time favourite action!). Needs new hammer-felts and possibly new strings. £4000 inc ono. Pros: classic well-built piano from Bluthner's golden age with the potential to recapture that magical Bluthner sound. Cons: maybe an £8000 restoration would not make a huge difference?

Either piano will probably cost similar after any work completed. Which one would YOU go for?
PianoGuy
Executive Poster
Executive Poster

Post by PianoGuy »

The Schimmel sounds the better bet to me, since the Blüthner's character could change if you have a a new set of strings and hammers fitted. It's got more life ahead of it, and you wouldn't be replacing one old piano with another old piano.