Piano advice for self-taught

General discussion about piano makes, problems with pianos, or just seeking advice.

Moderators: Feg, Gill the Piano, Melodytune

Aliastar
Junior Poster
Junior Poster

Piano advice for self-taught

Post by Aliastar »

Hi everyone guys!
New to this forum, I hope I'll like it here.
I'm a self-taught musician if it's possible to call me a musician. About half a year ago I've started making beats with FL Studio 20. I discovered that I really like composing music and bought MIDI-keyboard, but I understand that I don't have enough piano skills to do my best with MIDI, so I decided to buy a piano. Please, advise me on choosing the right piano, thanks.
p.s. I play guitar quite a long time, but never tried piano. Is it possible to learn to play it myself? If you have any resources(youtube channels with music theory or any literature), please feel free to share it here.
chrisw
Persistent Poster
Persistent Poster

Re: Piano advice for self-taught

Post by chrisw »

Visit has many piano shops as you can to try out many different pianos that fit your budget and the size of room you have available. Choose the one you like the sound of and the touch to your fingers. Get a guarantee from a shop. If you end up buying a second hand piano privately ask a piano tuner to inspect it for you before parting with money. Remember pianos wear out with age and the amount of playing they get. Any more advice and you would need to specify what you are looking for and where you are located (roughly).
Aliastar
Junior Poster
Junior Poster

Post by Aliastar »

I've run into weighted keys. They said to be very similar to pianos if I understand right, so I decided to take a closer look at keys to save some space in a room. Also, I consider buying keys online, is it a good idea, or it's better to make the purchase in the real-world?
chrisw
Persistent Poster
Persistent Poster

Post by chrisw »