Upright piano regulation

General discussion about piano makes, problems with pianos, or just seeking advice.

Moderators: Feg, Gill the Piano, Melodytune

mfield1203

Upright piano regulation

Post by mfield1203 »

Hi there, first post to the forum so hopefully it's all going to work!

I am putting up this post to get some advice about the regulation procedure for an upright piano that I have. I know that I could call in a tech but that would cost more than I am willing to spend (I'm a student!) and the piano I have isn't some expensive model that's new from the showroom; it's an old Collinson & Sons, straight strung, 85 key upright from around the 1950s I believe, so it doesn't matter to me if I accidentally break something during the learning process - plus I have a spare action and ivory keys from a similar piano that was demolished so I can get away with getting replacement parts easily :) Anyway, enough rambling, back to the main point! I have watched a series on YouTube by Howard Piano Industries (Steve Howard) that shows how to regulate the action within an upright piano - Steve's videos have been a massive help, however I have a few problems which the videos do not seem to address.