Going to view a John Ralph Upright Piano...thoughts

General discussion about piano makes, problems with pianos, or just seeking advice.

Moderators: Feg, Gill the Piano, Melodytune

Luke_rchrdsn

Going to view a John Ralph Upright Piano...thoughts

Post by Luke_rchrdsn »

Hi there, I am going to view this piano advertised on gumtree (I am a beginner).

http://www.gumtree.com/p/pianos/piano.. ... 1089099723

Having spoke to the owner she has had it for 7 years, originally buying it from a dealer who had reconditioned the piano. She still has the dealers contact details. From the pictures it looks to be overstrung and an iron frame.

Any thoughts or tips. Price is £200.

Many thanks

Luke
Gill the Piano

Re: Going to view a John Ralph Upright Piano...thoughts

Post by Gill the Piano »

The link doesn't work.
I play for my own amazement... :piano;
NewAge
Persistent Poster
Persistent Poster

Post by NewAge »

Gill is right, the link you provided doesn't work. However I arrived at the ad by Googling 'gumtree john ralph upright piano'. The following link should work.
http://www.gumtree.com/p/pianos/piano.. ... 1089099723
At a very rough guess I would say the piano dates from the 20-30's and appears overstrung, although I'll leave the experts to provide more information. I see it has a Hydroceel Humidifier fitted, the regular maintenance of which I know little about, but it's purpose is surely to provide a more favourable climate within the piano rather than "to keep strings from drying out" as the ad claims.
The first thing that would alert me to caution is the fact that it isn't tuned, and only an inspection from a piano technician could confirm if it's possible to adequately tune - and more importantly - remain in tune at concert-pitch.
Sure it's cheap, but it could turn out to be a potentially expensive piano if you did take a chance on purchase 'as-is' without a prior professional inspection.