Middleton, Copley piano from Fawcett, Bolton

Ask questions on piano history and the age of your piano.

Moderators: Feg, Gill the Piano, Bill Kibby

chereg
Junior Poster
Junior Poster

Middleton, Copley piano from Fawcett, Bolton

Post by chereg »

Good Day, This is my first time on the UK Piano forum. I am presently selling a number of antiques for my mother. One of these is an antique piano. I am not in any way asking for a valuation, I just need some direction as to how to proceed. She purchased the piano over 40 years ago because she thought it was lovely. She never played. In researching the label on the piano, I have become stuck. Following is the label on the piano: Middleton, Copley & Co. For J. Fawcett, Bolton Lancashire. The lettering is in gold and appears to be original. I have found the manufacturer, which went bankrupt. One date for Middleton as manufacturer is 1865. I am the most intrigued by J. Fawcett, Bolton. In my research I have found several John Fawcett's, father and son both being shoemakers who were also composers of psalmody of the Baptist faith. Would a piano manufacturer put a person's name on the piano because the piano was specifically being made for them to give to them, or did they put composer's names on pianos to add to the piano's value? Can I ever determine whether this piano was ever in the possession of John Fawcett? Where do I go from here? Any suggestions would be most appreciated. The pianos' home is in the western state of Wyoming in the United States. Thank you in advance for you assistance. Chere
chereg
Junior Poster
Junior Poster

Re: Composer's Name is on the piano?

Post by chereg »

Good Afternoon - I have included a photo of the label on the Middleton, Copley., & Co. Piano. Thanks for looking.
Attachments
Tag 159.JPG
Bill Kibby

Post by Bill Kibby »

For a general picture about these kinds of name see
http://pianogen.org/names.html