General discussion about digital pianos

Moderator: Feg

PaddyD
Junior Poster
Junior Poster

Beginner with P95

Post by PaddyD »

Hello Everyone,
I'm a nearly a beginner with pianos. A few years ago I had around 6 months of lessons, until my keyboard died (£80 christmas present) and as a school student, couldn't afford a replacement.
I've always loved the sound of the piano, it is by far my favourite instrument and I'm relatively musical (played Clarinet to grade 6, some saxophone) so, now that I'm at university, wanted to get back into it.
I can get relatively cheap lessons (student discount) so I've literally just ordered the Yamaha P95. My biggest gripe with my old keyboard were the keys. Regardless of how hard/soft I pressed, same sound, so the key really was for a piano-like feel, which I believe the P95 has from reading all the reviews.

I managed to get it with stand, stool and headphones for £470 which I thought was good, £500 was my max budget.

My family are looking to invest in an upright piano, again, probably Yamaha, but being at university, I needed something portable.

My keyboard should be with me in 5-7 days, I'm extremely excited and have been reading these forums for days trying to find the right one.

Looking forward to chatting with you all soon.

Paddy
NewAge
Persistent Poster
Persistent Poster

Re: Beginner with P95

Post by NewAge »

You'll probably be happy with the P95 as it's not a bad instrument for the price. But did you buy it without first trying it? If so, this can be somewhat risky as different makes not only sound different but feel different too, and that's the difference between getting an instrument that you like, and one you really love.
I would have recommended trying several different makes/models to any prospective buyer. The Korg Sp170 and Casio PX130 immediately come to mind. I few years ago I would never have thought about buying a Casio as a 'serious' instrument, but times have really changed.