ROLAND RD300s pedal problem

General discussion about digital pianos

Moderator: Feg

Post Reply
Adder
New Member
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: 27 Jan 2010, 20:23

ROLAND RD300s pedal problem

Post by Adder » 27 Jan 2010, 20:27

Hi all
New to the forum.
I've just bought an old Roland RD300s Stage piano and I'm having a problem with the hold pedal, As soon as I plug in the pedal the hold is on automatically and I have to press and hold the pedal down to take it off. I've tried reversing the wiring on the pedal but no luck. When the pedal is not plugged in the piano plays as normal ie no hold on.

Can anyone help me with this really annoying problem?

I've so far tried three pedals all with the same result.

Cheers
Adder

markymark
Executive Poster
Executive Poster
Posts: 1470
Joined: 04 Apr 2005, 18:50
Location: UK

Re: ROLAND RD300s pedal problem

Post by markymark » 27 Jan 2010, 22:05

Is it one of these pedals?
DP-2.png
DP-2.png (28.16 KiB) Viewed 3462 times
If so, there are sometimes a small switch on the bottom which may need to be switched the other way.

Just to rule out another obvious point, you are plugging it into the "damper" socket on the rear panel?

Adder
New Member
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: 27 Jan 2010, 20:23

Re: ROLAND RD300s pedal problem

Post by Adder » 27 Jan 2010, 23:14

Hi thanks for the reply.

My pedal is not the same as that one but similar, doesn't have a switch on it which is why I tried swapping the wires over to see if that would work, Sadly it didn't.

Adder
New Member
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: 27 Jan 2010, 20:23

Re: ROLAND RD300s pedal problem

Post by Adder » 27 Jan 2010, 23:16

And yes I plugged it into the damper jack at the rear.

markymark
Executive Poster
Executive Poster
Posts: 1470
Joined: 04 Apr 2005, 18:50
Location: UK

Re: ROLAND RD300s pedal problem

Post by markymark » 27 Jan 2010, 23:27

Okay, there is a feature on the RD300s which allows you to turn your soft pedal to a sostenuto pedal which is done by depressing the pedal before switching the machine on. On some models of keyboard, depressing the sustain/damper pedal and holding it down as the keyboard is switched on can cause this reverse affect also.

Using a non-Roland brand pedal with a Roland keyboard also causes problems. Is your pedal a Roland brand?

Adder
New Member
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: 27 Jan 2010, 20:23

Re: ROLAND RD300s pedal problem

Post by Adder » 27 Jan 2010, 23:34

I'ts OK i've sorted it out. It needed a pedal with a closed switch. I found an old one.
Cheers for the help.

markymark
Executive Poster
Executive Poster
Posts: 1470
Joined: 04 Apr 2005, 18:50
Location: UK

Re: ROLAND RD300s pedal problem

Post by markymark » 28 Jan 2010, 01:19

That would have been one of the last things to come to mind - well done!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest