Why so few piano midi sound modules?

General discussion about digital pianos

Moderator: Feg

jt7757

Why so few piano midi sound modules?

Post by jt7757 »

I've been playing roland digital pianos for 10 years.

I don't understand why there are so few sound module boxes? I have a roland xv-2020 half rack module, but from what I've heard the roland srx expansion cards for piano are rubbish. The sonic cell is obscenely expensive.

My main instrument is the rd300sx because it's so portable. I don't understand why I can't buy the piano sound from the rd700sx or rd700gx in a simple midi box. Most of these sound modules cost almost as much as the keyboard, why so expensive? How hard can it be to take away all the keys and hardware, and just have a midi controlled sound box for gigging musicians to use on the stage.

I can't find any current models for piano sounds. Why not? Why is there no market here? You'd think there'd be loads of digital piano owners who still like the action of their keyboard, but who just want to upgrade the sound. Why is it so hard? Any tips?

Thanks
markymark
Executive Poster
Executive Poster

Re: Why so few piano midi sound modules?

Post by markymark »

I know what you mean!

I am currently looking for other options for my church keyboard (a CP-300). I love the action and the piano sample is great but for moment when you want something with maybe three or four layers, this option is not available on the stage piano.

What do you need piano voices for? Is it for contemporary or classical stuff? Software pianos like Pianoteq or Akoustik are fairly common to name two but again, very refined for classical music in my opinion.