Recommend a sub-£500 digital for me please!

General discussion about digital pianos

Moderator: Feg

georgecrawford

Recommend a sub-£500 digital for me please!

Post by georgecrawford »

Hi all,

I'm a first time poster to this forum, but I'm already impressed with the quality of the advice, so I have high hopes!

I'm a professional violinist, and also avid user of software like Sibelius and Logic for all things musical. I have a crappy MIDI-controller keyboard, but have recently been thinking about getting my piano playing back up to scratch, which will require a proper digital piano. I play whenever I go back to my parents' house, but that's just not often enough (and it's a bit antisocial when I've gone to visit them!)

I have a limited budget, but if I find something fantastic it can be flexible. I'm certainly thinking sub-£500 for the time being. My flat is not suitable for a real piano, unfortunately.

I'll list my requirements, in order of preference:
  • the touch of the keyboard is most important by far - I want to get in shape for playing real pianos!
  • Good quality piano sounds are important, but I'm not too precious about them (I can't see myself using it in public very often)
  • Portability would be nice - I'd prefer to supply my own X-stand and pedal, and certainly don't want one of the 'furniture' pianos
  • As I'm a Baroque violinist, I'm particularly interested in practising harpsichord continuo. While it's not a deal-breaker, a piano with a good harpsichord sound and some historical temperaments would be a real bonus. I can, however, always use Logic for that (I have a nice harpsichord sample already) - provided the piano comes with USB/MIDI out. (Perhaps they all do nowadays? I don't know)