Elementary keyboard

General discussion about digital pianos

Moderator: Feg

Salaskan

Elementary keyboard

Post by Salaskan »

I've never played an instrument before, but I'd like to learn to play the piano. Since they are immensely expensive, I think I should start with an elementary keyboard. The question is: which? There are dozens of keyboards on the market which all seem to be very similar to each other (e.g. the Yamaha EZ200 / PSRE213/313/223/323 / YPT210/310/410).

I'm looking for an affordable keyboard (preferably no more than €150) that sounds/feels like a piano to a certain extent (weighted keys, etc), comes with learning features (since I'm a beginner), and, if possible, has extra features like recording songs, importing MIDI files or viewing notes on a display. I don't need all those fancy electronic sound effects to spice it up, since I'm just looking for a simple piano substitute.

What would you recommend?
Last edited by Salaskan on 17 Jun 2009, 15:10, edited 2 times in total.
NewAge
Persistent Poster
Persistent Poster

Re: Elementary keyboard

Post by NewAge »

Salaskan wrote:I've never played an instrument before, but I'd like to learn to play the piano. Since they are immensely expensive, I think I should start with an elementary keyboard. The question is: which? There are dozens of keyboards on the market which all seem to be very similar to each other.

I'm looking for an affordable keyboard (preferably €150 max) that sounds/feels like a piano to a certain extent (weighted keys, etc), comes with learning features (since I'm a beginner), and, if possible, has extra features like recording songs, importing MIDI files or viewing notes on a display. I don't need all those fancy electronic sound effects to spice it up, since I'm just looking for a simple piano substitute.