A new digital Piano

General discussion about digital pianos

Moderator: Feg

curlywurlysqurly

A new digital Piano

Post by curlywurlysqurly »

Hi, im looking for a digital piano for my birthday and i dont have a clue where to even start looking! i am a post grade 8 pianist but i wont have much room so i would like it to be as much like a real piano as possible but be portable. It is very important for it to feel like a real piano (is it called hammr action or something?) and have about as many keys. I would also like it if there was a recording button so i could play duets etc with myself! and also have a transposing button.
thanks
markymark
Executive Poster
Executive Poster

Post by markymark »

Your question is too wide ranging at the moment.

If you are post Grade 8, keyboard response and piano voice authenticity will be the two most important features for you.

What's your budget? This will help me narrow down to some specific models and brands.
curlywurlysqurly

yes you're right, they are the most important. also the amout of keys though as many things i play use the full range of the piano. my budget is roughly £1000, but we havent really talked about budgets yet!!
curlywurlysqurly

sorry thats meant to say 1000 pounds lol! obviously it would be better if i could get one for less than that though!
markymark
Executive Poster
Executive Poster

Post by markymark »

The portability factor makes your options rather narrow-ranging.

The first instrument that came to mind was the Yamaha CP300 which has dropped to around 1300GBP and slightly lower. Great GHE hammer action keyboard and stunning piano samples. There is a 16-layer sequencer onboard too.