Which Clavinova?

General discussion about digital pianos

Moderator: Feg

zebeddy

Which Clavinova?

Post by zebeddy »

Hi All
I am looking to buy a digital piano in order to start learning the piano. I thought I may buy one off of ebay as I may love it or I may lose interest (I hope it will be the former). I thought I would buy a Clavinova off of ebay.

There is a CLP 360, CLP810S, CLP 155, CLP411, CVP 30 and a CVP 55 all for the same price range.
Despite my best efforts to look for descriptions of these models I cannot find anything.

So, do you guys have any recommendations as to which would be best to buy (or even an order of best to worst?)
I am brand new to pianos and want a digital piano that has a full keyboard, touch sensitivity, and scope for me to improve in the future (in whatever direction that may be)
Thanks to anyone who may offer help and guidence.
zebeddy

Add On

Post by zebeddy »

As an extra note, the pianos were released in the following years:
CVP 30 1989
CLP 360 1990
CVP 55 1991
CLP 155 1994
CLP411 1996
CLP810S 1998

Is it as simple as the latest piano to be released will be the best? I was told that the CVP range are better than the CLP range. Is this true and if so would a CVP that is 7yrs older than a CLP piano be better?

Thanks again :)
markymark
Executive Poster
Executive Poster

Post by markymark »

These items are more or less unheard of nowadays and it is a long time since I've ever heard of these models never mind seen them.

When Yamaha brought out Clavinovas, they produced CLP and CVP models that more or less came out together. In fact, the modern models still exist and co-exist in the same way. The main difference is that the CLP is mostly focused on a piano with harpsichord, vibes, organ sound - fairly basic on the voices menu. The CVP has more of a variety of sounds with rhythms as well as the same keyboard touch - in a nutshell, those are the main differences.