Digital vs. acoustic: old debate

General discussion about digital pianos

Moderator: Feg

archivist

Digital vs. acoustic: old debate

Post by archivist »

Hello there! I am a beginner adult on the piano (background in classical guitar and singing). To start playing and taking lessons I bought a Roland HP 101, which the music shop suggested was the best I could get for that price for a piano (it was around 800 pounds). I enjoy it to no end - albeit of course not being in the professional position to judge as many of you are. I only get annoyed with the red lights on it, especially at the front - but feel much better now that I stuck some black cloth on it with blue tak... But seriously I began to think about the whole digital vs. accoustic thing and what is better. I put the question to the "piano" general thread which probably was not a good idea, because I got a few rather snappy replies trashing the idea of a digital. I thought you guys would be more objective. So what do you think? I also noticed the "Pianist" magazine uses a digital Roland for their CD to go with the scores, so surely it means they think it's professional enough? I am a bit confused, and would love your input.
Many thanks!
cothse
Junior Poster
Junior Poster

Post by cothse »

Hi,

As far as my knowledge, there's no acoustic benefit to a digital piano. It's ubiquitously held that the piano is the most difficult instrument to reduce to a digital medium, mainly because of the nature of the hammer action and the infinitely compicated behavior of the harmonics produced by different string combinations. When you hit a chord on a digital piano and it just doesn't sound the same, that's the wall digital piano makers haven't been able to get around. To my knowledge, there's isn't a digital piano that exists that truly reproduces the tone and richness real pianos offer.