Which Yamaha YPD Digital Piano

General discussion about digital pianos

Moderator: Feg

Don

Which Yamaha YPD Digital Piano

Post by Don »

A little background first - I am an active 74 year old who used to play piano up to the age of 18 taking exams in Classical and then American Syncopation before joining the RAF when I lost touch with the piano (and regretted it since). I still have my piano music in the loft though.

For some years I have been playing acoustic guitar (classical and jazz) – self taught, but at least I am familiar with the right hand piano music notation!

I now have a desire to get back to the piano and have been looking at many of the options for digital pianos.

Having just avoided buying a Classenti piano (having read a number of posting about this piano on this Forum) I have convinced myself that I should go for a Yamaha, in particularly the YDP range.

I have looked at a number of videos on YouTube and they all seem very good (as are reviewers comments around the internet).

My question to members is; can anyone give me advice as to which of the YPD range I should go for. In particular I looked at the 141/161/181/240 (which I presume are the order they were released by Yamaha)

The current prices on the Internet are 141 (£630) 162 (£830) 181 (£1000) 240 (1300) – quite a range for apparently very similar machines.

I have looked at the specifications but it’s hard to determine whether, for example, it is worth paying £300 simply for a digital display on the 240 when it seems the 181 has Polyphony range of 128, while the 240 is only 64.

My inclination is to go for the YPD-181, but would appreciate advice as to which I should purchase.

Thank you.
markymark
Executive Poster
Executive Poster

Re: Which Yamaha YPD Digital Piano

Post by markymark »