Chopin Prelude op 28 no 24

Questions on learning to play the piano, and piano music.

Moderators: Feg, Gill the Piano

mistral969
Junior Poster
Junior Poster

Chopin Prelude op 28 no 24

Post by mistral969 »

Go easy with me - i am self taught

I can play this piece but bar 17 is a bit of a problem.

When i hit the last C with my LH thumb, how do I cope with the arrival of my RH third finger when it also wants to hit this note.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thank-you.
Colin Nicholson
Executive Poster
Executive Poster

Re: Chopin Prelude op 28 no 24

Post by Colin Nicholson »

As you will know, the LH & RH middle C are performed one after the other - not at the same time, due to the irregular grouping in the RH arpeggio.

I would suggest that you change your fingering in the RH arpeggio so that your hands do not near-collide when they come together. Using the 3rd finger on middle C may cause problems as your "left portion" of your right hand will overlap the LH too soon, and not allow a smooth progression of the hands to overlap.

I dont know the edition of your music, but my edition starts the top F on the 4th finger - then eventually using the 2nd finger on middle C - much better - so you may need to relearn the whole arpeggio again.... thats my opinion.

Here is a quick draft of the right hand part (excluding the tie & grouping), showing my suggested fingering.....

hope that helps. see below >>>
Chopin extract
Chopin extract

Colin
AA Piano Tuners UK

Colin Nicholson Dip. Mus. CMIT CLCM PTLLS
Piano tuning & repairs. Full UK restoration service
http://www.aatuners.com
Tuition ~ Accompaniment ~ Weddings
http://www.pianotime1964.com
Member of The Guild of Master Craftsmen
mistral969
Junior Poster
Junior Poster

Post by mistral969 »

Colin

Thank-you for taking the trouble to respond, I shall study it carefully and get back to you.

Kind regards

roger
mistral969
Junior Poster
Junior Poster

Post by mistral969 »

Colin,