Help aural tests :s

Questions on learning to play the piano, and piano music.

Moderators: Feg, Gill the Piano

jessieloo

Help aural tests :s

Post by jessieloo »

hi im self taught and wanting to take my grade 1 piano practical but i've just seen something about aural tests. can some one please tell me what these's are. thanks
Gill the Piano

Re: Help aural tests :s

Post by Gill the Piano »

Go to the ABRSM website and look under 'Aural Tests' for Grade I and it'll tell you. They're fairly straightforward, but if you're seriously considering taking the exam, it'd be worth your while to pay for a lesson with a friendly teacher who will help you negotiate your way through them. There are little tests like the examiner playing a short phrase and you sing an echo of it back, there's another where s/he plays a piece and asks you whether it was in a major or minor key (ie, happy or sad, very roughly speaking). I can't remember any more, but I think there might be a list of requirements in the front cover/first page of your exam book. It's possible that you can get a CD of them to listen to and that will tell you exactly what they want, but there's no substitute for a real teacher. S/he'll also listen to your pieces and scales and give you some constructive criticism, and you will experience playing to a stranger, which is what an exam is!
Good luck! :)
I play for my own amazement... :piano;
Colin Nicholson
Executive Poster
Executive Poster

Post by Colin Nicholson »

Hi there - is it Jessie?

You will need a piano teacher to do the aural tests with you. (I am a piano teacher!)
The Grade 1 aural tests come in four parts:-
a. Clap in time to a piece of music in 2 or 3 time; then state the time.
b. Sing as an echo 3 short phrases - without a pause inbetween.
c. To recognise a rhythm change to a 2-bar phrase, with the change being made in the 2nd playing.
[i.e. a straight rhythm changing to a dotted rhythm/ or a rhythm being swapped]