Starting from scratch Have I left it too late :(

Questions on learning to play the piano, and piano music.

Moderators: Feg, Gill the Piano

KEBBER82

Starting from scratch Have I left it too late :(

Post by KEBBER82 »

I'm 27 and have always had a dream at playing the piano, I did have a chance at school but other issue prevented that. I live in South Yorks, I've found that forums are usually best places to look as people who come on here really enjoy what they do.

I work as a driving instructor, so it would be nice to be a learner for once :) Can anyone give me some advice on where to start, maybe recomend a good tutor in SY.

Many Thanks :)
cazmal
Junior Poster
Junior Poster

Re: Starting from scratch Have I left it too late :(

Post by cazmal »

Hi Kebber82

No you haven't left it too late - I started when I turned 40, again something I always wanted to do. I am now grade 5.

Go for it (sorry can't help with teacher info as I'm down south)
KEBBER82

Post by KEBBER82 »

Thanks for that I feel at ease now and looking forward to eventually learning
markymark
Executive Poster
Executive Poster

Post by markymark »

Are you wanting to go down the traditional "grade" system or are you just looking to learn to play by ear?
KEBBER82

Post by KEBBER82 »

What ever is easiest for a newbie like myself, I have already bought a keyboard to practice with and at moment is sat doing nothing, I would love to be able to play by ear. I'm also double jointed in my fingers, so I'm not sure if that will have an affect on things,
markymark
Executive Poster
Executive Poster

Post by markymark »

Well someone has already said, you're never too old to learn piano. It's just too late when you stop wanting to learn a new skill.