Hi Everyone - I'm New!

Questions on learning to play the piano, and piano music.

Moderators: Feg, Gill the Piano

BRISTOL86
Junior Poster
Junior Poster

Hi Everyone - I'm New!

Post by BRISTOL86 »

Hi Everyone,

I'm new here so I thought I would drop in and say hello! :D

To tell you a little bit about myself, I'm 22, I started playing the keyboard when I was about 10, taking lessons for a year or so and then just fell out of habit and the keyboard went away for a very long time.

I've recently got back in and it feels like I've never been away! I've always played for fun, but am going to be getting back into it a lot more seriously now I am a touch more mature! My long term goal is to be able to pick up a score and learn a piece all the way through, as all I have ever really done is to play chords and simple melodies by ear.

I have ordered a book on music theory and how to read music, as well as a book of "easy" classical pieces. I used to only be interested in playing pop songs when I was in my teens but now I love classical music and would love to be able to play some classical pieces.

I'm saving up until my next birthday (May) to buy a digital piano as I really want to strip away all the gimmicky keyboard features and just have a pure piano sound and feel.

Oops, I've been rambling...! Enough about me!

What sort of level is everyone at here? Any more out of practice returners?

Martin :)
Nutroast
Persistent Poster
Persistent Poster

Post by Nutroast »

Hello Martin and welcome from me too!

I've only just started learning at the grand old age of 42 and am really enjoying myself. I've only been playing for a few months so am still grade 0 at the moment.

Are you going to have lessons?

As for the digital, there are some great ones out there, but why not buy yourself an acoustic? I'm not very good with electricity :)

Hope to hear more from you soon.

Jan
Moonlight
Senior Poster
Senior Poster

Post by Moonlight »

Hi Martin, Welcome, Welcome, Welcome!