how much should i be concerned?

Questions on learning to play the piano, and piano music.

Moderators: Feg, Gill the Piano

Gill the Piano

Post by Gill the Piano »

Tell your teacher how you feel; but I think that a true born teacher (as opposed to someone who teaches for the money alone, or who is a frustrated performer) will not mind who s/he teaches as long as the pupil truly wants to learn. And it sounds to me as though you do!
I don't teach, as I haven't the patience, but there are several teachers who drop in here with sound advice who will be able to help you - if you need help! I think you are simply overcritical and unconfident, both of which a competent teacher should be able to help you to overcome.
Descombes
Persistent Poster
Persistent Poster

Post by Descombes »

As a teacher, my advice to William is simple. Your carefully-expressed thoughts make it very obvious that you have a deep feeling for music and that you really enjoy playing the piano and expanding your limits. Judging from what you have written, your teacher will have realised this too. You are one of a small minority who feel this deeply about the piano and I am sure that your teacher feels that you have no need to apologise for anything; in fact, I would guess that he is delighted by your approach.
Learning to play the piano to the standard you are aiming for is a slow process. Take things step by step and you will reach the level you are hoping for. Most of my students are between 13 and 18, but when I teach adults, their commitment is often astonishing; you obviously come into this category. Your technique and musicianship will come from a wide variety of musical activities and not just playing the piano. Listening, singing and possibly playing another instrument will all give you the experience and the stylistic knowledge which a good pianist needs.