Piano lesson fees for 2008

Questions on learning to play the piano, and piano music.

Moderators: Feg, Gill the Piano

whitebeagle
Junior Poster
Junior Poster

Piano lesson fees for 2008

Post by whitebeagle »

Hello

I was wondering if you all thought it's reasonable to raise lessons fees for 2008? I have been teaching for 11 years, have a masters degree, and currently charge £25-28 per hour as a home visit teacher in London.

When I visited the ISM site it recommends that teachers in London charge £24 and up as a newly qualified teacher so what I charge is rather low. Home visits are becoming rather cumbersome as I don't have a car.

I don't want to shock the students however, and thinking of raising fees by a pound or two. I haven't had to do this before, as I have always worked in a music school or a school, but wonder what would be the best way to approach the subject with private students.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!
Gill the Piano

Post by Gill the Piano »

Raise it straight away for new ones, that's easy. But when you think of your training and trouble to get to these people, you really are undervaluing yourself. And if you do, they will too. When you think it takes an aromatherapist a year to train, and they charge 30 quid upwards an hour for YOU to go to THEM....!! Send a letter, notifying them of charges increase from Easter, say. That way you have given them enough notice to go elsewhere if they want (and they'll NEVER find someone to visit for what you're charging now) and enough time to get used to the idea of actually paying what you're worth. If anyone carps, ask what they've paid for a trained ape as opposed to a proper tradesman to come to fix a tap/dishwasher/TV/cooker per hour, and to compare and contrast! Use it as an excuse for weeding out the ones you're fed up with...!
What d'you think?
whitebeagle
Junior Poster
Junior Poster

Post by whitebeagle »

Thanks for that Gill, much appreciated.