Tutoring in a school

Questions on learning to play the piano, and piano music.

Moderators: Feg, Gill the Piano

ymapazagain

Tutoring in a school

Post by ymapazagain »

I have just moved to london (from Australia) and I am beginning to set myself up as a piano teacher. At the moment I am travelling to my students which has proved to be very tiring, time consuming and not the best way to make money.

At the moment I am charging 20/hour however I have seen that many teachers charge 30 an hour, even up to 50. When I begin teaching from home I will be teaching in west london (probably chiswick, shephards bush). I have 8 years experience (in Australia) and all of my students have done extremely well in exams and eisteddfods so I would consider my teaching to be of a fairly high standard. I would love some advice on how much I could realistically charge.

Also, in Australia it is common place for a teacher to go into a primary school or a high school to give lessons to students during class time. Is this common practice in English schools? If so I would love some advice on the best way to approach schools, things to have prepared (such as police checks), once again how much to charge and finally which would be the best payment method. Is it practical to have students paying in cash each lesson or do parents prefer to pay for the term in advance?

All advice will be so much appreciated! I want to be able to maximise my income as much as possible so that I can start to enjoy London and the amazing things it has to offer rather than just staying at home because i'm so poor!

Thanks all :D
Gill the Piano

Post by Gill the Piano »

Well, first off I must say I'm NOT a teacher, but I have many teacher friends and clients, so my advice may not be 100% accurate. But on the other hand, it's better than nothing!