Reading sheet music

Questions on learning to play the piano, and piano music.

Moderators: Feg, Gill the Piano

Alan

Reading sheet music

Post by Alan »

Can someone help me please. I've been teaching myself to play the piano for about two years and can now play guite a bit, but am having a problem reading some of the music that I've moved on to. I understand all the notation etc. but on some of the more lengthy sheets am having the following problem. An example is first 8 bars ok then bars 9 and 10 and bracketed together and marked 1 followed by a thick vertical line. Then the next 2 bars are bracketed 2 followed by two thin vertical lines. Then there are say 20 bars with no brackets etc and then the next 3 bars are bracketed 1 again followed by the vertical line then the next 2 bars are bracketed 2 again and have the words 'to the next strain'. then the next 3 bars are bracketed 3 and fine. Followed by 20 bars not bracketed to the end and then marked D.S. al Fine. My problem is understanding what follows what as it dos'nt seem to follow on what ever I do. Hope I've made myself clear,any advice please would be appreciated. Regards Alan
Gill the Piano

Post by Gill the Piano »