Adult piano

Questions on learning to play the piano, and piano music.

Moderators: Feg, Gill the Piano

jpn1970

Adult piano

Post by jpn1970 »

Hello,
I'm from Japan. Please forgive me my poor English. I'm 45 years old male.I started practicing the piano about 15 years ago.
My teacher was changed last year and the new teacher told me that my technique was wrong. So I've been learning the completely different technique since last year.
My repertoires were Turkish March (Mozart), For Elise etc...but I stopped playing them and started leaning the new technique.
I accepted the fact that I was playing wrong because I was feeling that I could not play more difficult pieces like the Beethoven's Pathetique the first movement.

Here in Japan, starting piano from the age of more than 30 years old is very common but most of them are not taught properly like I used to be.
Now, I have a question. How about in your countries? Is starting piano from the age of adult popular? How do you practice? or How do teachers try to teach those adult students?
What kind of text books are used? Please let me know anything about adult piano!
Gill the Piano

Re: Adult piano

Post by Gill the Piano »

Glad you're enjoying your lessons!
Adults start lessons here at all ages; some people start when their children start to learn, some people learn when they retire to keep their brain and hands moving...all sorts of different reasons!
There are all sorts of books as well, but for an adult beginner I usually recommend The Complete Piano Player by Kenneth Baker which uses songs by Abba, Elvis and the Beatles as well as well-known folk songs or little classical pieces.
If someone wants a more classical approach then there are books by Carol Barratt (wife of Karl Jenkins, the composer) and Pamela Wedgewood has also written some excellent instruction books aimed at adult beginners. If you go to musicroom.com, you'll see a big range of the books available here.