Grade 4 Block

Questions on learning to play the piano, and piano music.

Moderators: Feg, Gill the Piano

Natalied
Junior Poster
Junior Poster

Grade 4 Block

Post by Natalied »

Hi

I initially joined this forum to seek advice about buying a piano. I am an adult beginner and I made it through my first grades pretty quickly with lots of motivation and regular practice, but since I have started grade 4, I seem to have slowed down and am struggling to motivate myself as everything seems so much harder. I love the piano and am really disppointed in myself as I want to make it to grade 8 eventually. My piano teacher is also lush, so I can't blame her, I really enjoy lessons.

Have any other learners had this experience around this level? Any advice would be welcomed.
dave brum
Executive Poster
Executive Poster

Re: Grade 4 Block

Post by dave brum »

Hello Natalie

Yes I have 'hit the wall' as well, around Grade 3 - and the early part of Part 3 of Complete Piano Player.

But surely making it to Grade 8, in my opinion is unimportant. What IS important is the enjoyment factor. You're enjoying lessons. You like your teacher. And you've done 3 grades. Do you really need to struggle to do something if it will compromise your enjoyment of the instrument? Because if that goes then that's that. Please believe me, it has happened to me.

Also it is important not to let the whole idea of studying for an exam cross the line into obsessive territory. Again I did and it led me to something very nasty indeed in the exam room.

It is possible to continue to learn at your own pace without putting any undue pressure on yourself to do exams. I'm sure your piano teacher would understand if she's as 'gert lush' as you say she is! You will then continue to enjoy learning - at your own pace - and the more you enjoy the piano the more you'll learn! If that means dropping the exams then so be it.