straight to grade 4

Questions on learning to play the piano, and piano music.

Moderators: Feg, Gill the Piano

nathan32

straight to grade 4

Post by nathan32 »

Hi all, First time posting here so hope i am in the right place, I am 32 years old and I have been learning to play the piano for the last 8 months, in this time i have learnt a few average pieces all the major scales with both hands in octaves, contrary motion 3rds 6ths and tenths, all major arpeggio's 1st 2nd & 3rd inversions learnt aswell, i actually had some lessons when i was about 10 and did enough pass grade 1 with a merit but that was all, i practice every single day for over an hour, i am extremley motivated and would love to get to the stage where i can play pretty much what i want, i do see this as a long term plan, as long as it takes, i am currently learning Mozart K545 which i am struggling with, mainly the fast scales and arpeggio's but i think i will get there it has taken me about 6 weeks to get to the 24th bar, (with speed and timing issues) so thats the background, my question is, my teacher said i should choose between grade 4 and 5 and work towards the spring 2013 exam period, i have opted for grade 4 but am just wondering if skipping all the previouse grades is advisable, any help would be greatly appreciated

Thanks in advance

Nathan
Gill the Piano

Re: straight to grade 4

Post by Gill the Piano »