New or restored piano?

General discussion about piano makes, problems with pianos, or just seeking advice.

Moderators: Feg, Gill the Piano, Melodytune

allegrotj
Junior Poster
Junior Poster

New or restored piano?

Post by allegrotj »

I am a piano teacher/pianist thinking about changing my current piano. The toss-up is a new one (such as a Yamaha grand), or an early 1900's newly traditionally restored German grand, such as a Bluthner or Bechstein.

Although I prefer the sound of the traditional old German instruments, I just wonder how robust a well - restored piano of say 100 years old would be, given that I work on a piano on average 3 hours a day, and whether a modern instrument is going to suit my needs better.

Also, can one expect actions in old pianos to be noisy to an extent? In other word is this normal? What would be the risk of a restored piano developing clicks and creaks with regular use not long after restoration, and chronically having to be fixed?

I wonder whether someone would be able to advise?

Many thanks in anticipation
Colin Nicholson
Executive Poster
Executive Poster

Re: New or restored piano?

Post by Colin Nicholson »

Obviously the cost of a fully restored German grand would be a fair bit more than a new Japanese grand piano - depending on the size of the grand you want? Anything below 5ft, and you will lose quality in the bass region due to shorter and thicker strings.