Ibach

General discussion about piano makes, problems with pianos, or just seeking advice.

Moderators: Feg, Gill the Piano, Melodytune

cyfeilydd

Ibach

Post by cyfeilydd »

I'm a pretty rough pianist, once reached grade 7 but now play a bit for my own pleasure, or occasionally accompany my kids or friends. My 1884 bluthner upright is very much showing its age and I'm told really needs a comprehensive overhaul. Expensive, although its resale value is nil. I have moved and have a bit more space and would quite like to indulge myself with a grand, say 6'. my skill and level of usage doesn't justify spending a lot. I have been offered a modern Ibach for £5k (still quite a lot of money to my mind). Does anyone have any experience of this piano? should I try to find something else?
any advice gratefully received
Thanks
Openwood
Senior Poster
Senior Poster

Re: Ibach

Post by Openwood »

Five thousand for a good secondhand 6-footer sounds good value to me. You need to get it inspected by a tuner though - it could be fab, but equally it could be shite. It's impossible to know without a professional inspection. It will probably cost you about the same as a tuning visit to get someone out to look at it (say around £50) but it's worth every penny if it stops you buying a dud.

If 5k is about your limit you ought to be able to find something - probably an older grand from a mid-range manufacturer. But then again, in these bonkers financial days you might also find a peach; definitely worth shopping around.

Ibach sounds Welsh and so does your username, so maybe it's a match made in heaven, isn't it!
"Each day grow older, and learn something new."
Solon (c. 630 - c. 500 B.C.), Greek Statesman and Reformer
joseph
Senior Poster
Senior Poster

Post by joseph »

sounds an ok price if the piano is in good nick. dunno what you can get on the s/h market for 5k.
cyfeilydd

Post by cyfeilydd »