Sostenuto pedal or Practice pedal?

General discussion about piano makes, problems with pianos, or just seeking advice.

Moderators: Feg, Gill the Piano, Melodytune

Moonlight
Senior Poster
Senior Poster

Sostenuto pedal or Practice pedal?

Post by Moonlight »

Hi

What pedal is more useful to have on a piano? I have my eye on the Yamaha Radius RD2 ( when I can finaly afford it ) but the middle pedal is a pratice pedal or muffler pedal. Would I regret not having a sostenuto pedel later, I'm a beginner so have never needed to use the sost pedel.

Thanks!
David B
Persistent Poster
Persistent Poster

Post by David B »

Trust me, you will not need a sostenuto pedal 8)

Most pianos don't have them, so even if you did manage to master the wretched thing, it'll be to no avail when you have to play on another piano.
Grenache
Regular Poster
Regular Poster

Post by Grenache »

I've got neither! I have a Yamaha with the silent option, and the middle pedal moves the shank stopper to prevent the hammers hitting the strings. If you engage that then forget to switch on the electronics, it's a bit like Joseph Cooper on Face the Music. At least you could tell what he was playing, unlike my attempts!
sirprize
Regular Poster
Regular Poster

Post by sirprize »

The sostenuto option is a very nice resource to have - but it needs a lot of practice to get the most out of it, particularly when combined with the normal sustain pedal. Apart from the obvious repertoire of the late romantics & moderns needing it I've often thought Bach and the other contrapuntalists benefit from it
vernon

Post by vernon »

When is someone going to invent a "soft" peadl that works?
Openwood
Senior Poster
Senior Poster

Post by Openwood »

Agreed. Soft pedals on uprights are generally a waste of good brass.