Help needed buying a piano

General discussion about piano makes, problems with pianos, or just seeking advice.

Moderators: Feg, Gill the Piano, Melodytune

noclue

Help needed buying a piano

Post by noclue »

I am currently looking at purchasing a piano for my wife as a christmas gift. I have no knowledge of pianos or music, and would greatly appreciate some help. I have been round a few stores although everyone seems to tell me different things, and I am concerned that the views expressed by the salesmen are bias or untrue.

My wife is a teacher and plays the piano in school for concerts, events etc - generally speaking she doesnt play for any other reason but to practice for these events. Having looked at pianos I ahve come top the conclusion that an acoustic piano would be too expensive and big. I have therefore started to look at digital / electronic pianos. My budget is approx £500 ($1000) but would pay slightly more if a piano was far better than the ones in my current budget. With regards to features, My wife would have little intrest in special features, sound effects and computer, ipod compatibility.

Ultimately I want something which sounds and feels like an acoustic piano. I have been advised that the Korg SP250 and the Yamaha DGX-620 would be suitable.

Could anyone offer any advise with regards to the best piano to purchase or the suitability of the two mentioned pianos.
Gill the Piano

Post by Gill the Piano »

There is something which sounds EXACTLY like an acoustic piano; it's called an acoustic piano! The footprint is much the same as a plastic one, so the size argument is out the window, and for 500 quid you could get a decent second hand small upright - a Zender, for instance. Your wife doesn't want all the gadgets and gizmos, so a real piano would be ideal. If you spend 500 quid on a plastic one, it's going to last you 10 years tops, whereas a small upright will keep going forever if you look after it.
PianoGuy
Executive Poster