murdoch piano

General discussion about piano makes, problems with pianos, or just seeking advice.

Moderators: Feg, Gill the Piano, Melodytune

nicolat

murdoch piano

Post by nicolat »

I am a complete novice at piano buying and am looking for my first secondhand piano for my son who has just decided to study gcse music at school. I have my eye on a murdoch upright piano on an auction site. I have done alot of research and know that overstrung looks the best option. I have been given a serial number as11986 but can not find the age of this. Can anyone advise are these good pianos and should I just go for it. The lady has had it for 6 years and it has been tuned once in that time and plays well and is in lovely condition. Thanks
vernonk
Junior Poster
Junior Poster

Re: murdoch piano

Post by vernonk »

It will be quite old as Murdochs has been out of business for donkey's years.
You will advised to pay a tuner to look at it first as whatever you pay plus the delivery charge could go a long way to purchasing a suitable cheap piano from a reputable dealer if the Murdoch turns out to be a turkey.
Colin Nicholson
Executive Poster
Executive Poster

Post by Colin Nicholson »

Bidding on any piano unseen and untouched is risky - even in the trade. Murdoch are mentioned in the piano census book, but no serial numbers listed - so the serial number on this piano doesn't mean anything now..... so I wouldnt rely on its age. Serial numbers should be linked to a detailed list of dates with it - but this is more for pianos with provenance & history, and those with a high-end name.

Overstrung is better than straight strung, but what about the dampers?